Will You Fight For Me?

animal_fight_04

Exodus 14:13-14And Moses said to the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord, which He will accomplish for you today… 14 The Lord will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.”

Joshua 23:3 You yourselves have seen everything the Lord your God has done to all these nations for your sake; it was the Lord your God who fought for you.

Have you ever had a season in your life when it literally feels like you are under attack from all sides? Maybe it is family. Maybe it is school, work or friends. Maybe it is circumstances. No matter where you turn, there is no peace.

I am seeing this very thing happen in the life of a friend right now.

Let me tell you a little about this woman. She is smart, beautiful, talented, articulate and knows her own mind. She is what the world would call the complete package. To look at her, no one would guess the personal challenges she is facing in her family life. Yet, she is experiencing brokenness, anger, abandonment and damaged history.

My friend is also a daughter of Jesus Christ.

As she shared her situation with me on the phone the other day, I listened in bewilderment, hurting with her and getting angry and frustrated for her. But then much to my amazement, my friend said, “But I know this all will be okay, because God is fighting for me. In my prayers I am standing on His promises in the Word, and He is faithful and true. I am already thanking God in prayer for what He going to do in this situation. Then she quoted to me a scripture she has relied on in Mark 24, Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

I was stunned. I was amazed. I was embarrassed – that I had not reached the same conclusion she already had.

In the midst of her trial, she could still see God’s handiwork all over it. I learned that she had not had an easy life, but that her experiences had so finally tuned her spiritual muscle, that all she had to do is flex it, and be reminded of the truth. As we discussed the situation further, she also remarked, “I may not like what is happening, but I know this, when God get’s a hold of someone, He changes their very DNA!”

My friend is right, scripture tells us that when we give our lives to Christ, the old has gone and the new has come! He will indeed give us a new heart, and a new spirit. And my friend is standing on that Promise for her family situation. She doesn’t need to worry, because God is fighting for her.

I hung up our call smiling. My friend, who should have needed support from me, was actually pouring into me and my own troubles. So the life lesson taught? When life goes pear shaped, which it invariably does, rather than react, we need to first bring it to God in prayer and second be patient and wait. Get out of His way. God may not answer you (or me) in our timing or to our plan… but he tells us in Psalm 46:10, “to Be still and know that I am God.”

Be still. Hard for me to do when I was a child, and now that I am an adult, I am no more successful in being still and waiting. But my friend reminded me. God has sovereign plans. God is answering her prayers, and though it is hard now, she is doing fine because she knows that though people may disappoint her, God will not, because He will (and is) fighting for her. He has told her as much. And He tells us the same thing… and we can all stand on that.

Deuteronomy 20:4 For the Lord your God is the one who goes with you to fight for you against your enemies to give you victory.

2 Chronicles 20:17 You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.'”

Psalm 59:9 You are my strength, I watch for you; you, God, are my fortress,

Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

Romans 8:3131 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

