The Legacy of Mrs. B

Bee in purple

What you heard from me, keep as the pattern of sound teaching, with faith and love in Christ Jesus. Guard the good deposit that was entrusted to you—guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us. 2 Timothy 1:15

Meanderings:

I said “sweet dreams” to my teenage son tonight and as I shut off the light and turned to go, I heard him sleepily say, “May the Lord Bless Your Life.” I softly closed the door, and felt a warmth surge into my heart as a gentle memory nudged into my consciousness. A smile spread across my face. I thought of her – Mrs. B. What a precious gift to my family.

She was my son’s first grade teacher, so many years ago. THIS is a woman who exuded the love of Jesus Christ. I am not sure I have ever met someone like her since. With huge brown eyes, a kind countenance and thick long gray hair, she was the kind of teacher that kids, and grown up “kids” would come back to see time and time again. Full of generous spirit, she always knew what to say and how to say it when the inevitable melt downs and the “he said she said” arguments would erupt in her class room. She would bring the two offenders together and teach them to own it, repent it, pray over it and reconcile it. No child stayed upset long, as her formula for success in arbitration among 6 and 7 year olds was legendary.

Wandering paths:

I have never quite mastered her serenity and abilities with the young ones. Mrs. B could take a boring math class and turn it into an outdoor adventure looking for things, counting them and comparing their sizes. She could turn a reading assignment into a festival of song, a one-woman play or class project. Every now and then, just to break up the tedium, she would whip out her guitar, “Old Glory” and sing a song of blessings and goodness about the love of her life, Jesus Christ. As parents, we pray that our children learn to seek the Lord in prayer… she was such an amazing prayer warrior she exemplified to these young ones through word and deed how to pray with passion, deeply from the heart. My son still does today. Mrs. B taught him how to do that.

Trusted Paths:

Sadly, this daughter of Christ has left the school where she taught my son and so many generations of children before him. Mrs. B’s example of pouring Christ’s love into others is her legacy. I will always be indebted to her; as I suspect many other families are as well. She was a true “Barnabas”, an encourager who came along side young mothers and fathers, presenting herself as a partner in education who cared deeply for her charges.

Every one, young and old was subject to her brand of Christian love, she never left your presence without telling you “May the Lord Bless your life”….and He certainly did….among many things, He blessed me and mine with Mrs. B.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:1

I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also. 2 Timothy 1:5

…and being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

4 thoughts on “The Legacy of Mrs. B

  1. This article reminded me of the power I have as His vessel in the public school system. I may not be able to pray with my classroom, but I do pray for them. As I pray for them, His love flows out of me and touches their lives. Mrs. B is reaching across time and space and touching my life and encouraging me. I want His presence to permeate my words, my actions and my thoughts. Truly, my life was blessed by reading this. Thank you for encouraging me. 🙂

    Like

    • That is wonderful! She too has gone on to a public school system. She told me years ago that she felt called to love on God’s other lambs there. I know that your students are blessed more than they know, as your prayers are like a fragrant offering on their behalf. Since God is gathering up your prayers in a bowl, it will be amazing to one day see how your efforts will be a lasting legacy for them as well. I am proud of you – you go girl!

      Like

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

