‘Tis The Season

photo 3 (1)

It’s happening again.  The monkey (a.k.a. end of year stress) is climbing up my spine and camping out on my shoulders, where all things unpleasant seem to live in my corpus.  It happens to most of us, especially at this time of year.  ‘Tis the Season.

My husband and I were discussing this just yesterday, as we both squeezed out some time off work to make the annual schlep to the shopping mall for the Holiday Drama. Never mind that our Christmas tree has been up for 2 weeks (that in itself was a wonderment, as it sat un-decorated for 1 of the 2 weeks…).  Until yesterday, we had not ONE present under its scented green boughs.  Honestly, if he had not taken the lead and forced me to shop, there still wouldn’t be…points for him.

So I sit here today, computer on my lap, trying to slam through my emails, contracts and spreadsheets again (even though I “officially” took leave on Tuesday), there are still “things” that must be done. That dreaded Monkey. I have lists….and like Santa’s nice and naughty one, it seems to be growing. The work list, the shopping, the cleaning, the menu, what open house do we need to go to, when is the guy coming to clean the carpet, has anyone watered the tree? I don’t know why the lights in the driveway shorted out…and on and on and on…..’Tis the Season…

Just as I am beginning to flag under the demands, I hear the Classical Christmas music playing on the stereo in the background.   It seems I never noticed that my husband snuck into the room and turned it on.  My favourite song is playing and I am pulled away from staring down the Monkey – and my soul moves into the beauty and reverence of the sounds…literally.

I have been to Israel and so it is not hard for me to picture the low hills of Bethlehem, wrapped in purple shadows and the cool star-studded night.  Suddenly I exhale and take in a breath of fresh sweet non-toxic air as my mind’s eye takes me away…I am walking in the fields amidst sheep and shepherds as we meander toward a small unimpressive village.  At the distant edge of its borders is a shelter tucked into the rocky hill. There is a strange light coming from it.

Soon, I am inhaling the sweet smell of hay, I hear the mellow tones of the animals as their soft voices reverberate off walls of the stable…it is warm here, and I feel safe. There she is, a gentle-faced teenage mother resting on a pile of hay covered with a horse blanket; an older man hovers close to her.  I watch as he gently plays with the tiny digits of a newborn… they all look tired – but peacefully content. The baby boy is held closely in her arms.  She buries her nose in the scented-folds of his soft neck. She breaths in the delicate aroma of heaven on earth. He is nursing, soaking in all His mom’s love and goodness He can get.  He is very young.  He is very strong.  All is good.  It is a silent night.  It is a night full of God’s glory.

stablex-large

Silent night, Holy night
All is calm, all is bright
‘Round yon virgin , mother and child
Holy infant so, tender and mild
Sleep in heavenly peace,
Sleep in heavenly peace.

Silent night, Holy night
Shepherds quake, at the sight
Glory streams from heaven afar
Heavenly, hosts sings Hallelujah.
Christ the Savior is born,
Christ the Savior is born.

Silent night, Holy night
Son of God, love’s pure light
Radiant beams from thy holy face
With the dawn of redeeming grace,
Jesus, Lord at thy birth,
Jesus, Lord at thy birth.

May the Gift and Miracle of Christmas keep you and your heart in This Season all year.

Now there were in the same country shepherds living out in the fields, keeping watch over their flock by night. And behold, an angel of the Lord stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were greatly afraid. Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. And this will be the sign to you: You will find a Babe wrapped in swaddling cloths, lying in a manger.”

And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying:

“Glory to God in the highest, And on earth peace, goodwill toward men!” Luke 2:8-14

artwork by Helen Thomas Robson (top);scene from the movie The Nativity Story (middle) click here to watch movie
5 thoughts on “‘Tis The Season

  1. What a blessed coincidence – I had just received an online Christmas card that played silent night, and then I read your blog. Sigh, in the midst of the madness of bills, invoicing and laundry Jesus came to give me a window of peace this morning…..what a gift! Bless you and yours and thank you for this timely encouragement.

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind feedback. Yes, I fear we all tend to be “Martha’s” when it was Mary who knew that sitting at the Lord’s feet would be her only pathway to peace. I pray to find more stillness this Season. I Watched The Nativity Story last night….it helped me to remember again….Have a blessed Christmas sister in Christ.

      Like

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

