Maybe God Likes My Boots

bootsMeanderings: Have you ever had one of those days where you are too tired to pray out loud?  Those happen often to me and I end up praying silently, sometimes jumping around from subject to subject.  My prayers can be kind of staccato – often like little arrows shot up to heaven hither and thither.

This past Sunday was one of those days.  My “people” were home sick, tired and not looking forward to returning to the post holiday responsibilities.  I went to church alone; to the late service which I never attend.  As I sat there waiting for it to start, my mind and heart turned to conversation with God, as I wistfully expressed a few things to Him that were weighing in on me.  After service as I was leaving, out of nowhere a tiny woman approached me.  She remarked, “Hey, I love your boots!” I was sort of lost in my own thoughts, so I was a bit startled and responded, “Thanks, yes – they are fun!”

Strange paths: She went on to ask me where I bought them, who made them etc.  – like I can’t remember what I had for breakfast, how can I remember that? I paused to answer her question and look at the logo on the heel of a boot to tell her, and told her she can probably google them to buy on line.  I though that was the end of the conversation and went on to exit the sanctuary.

She grabbed my arm and asked me, “Are you new to this church?”  “No,” I answered, “I just don’t usually come to this service.”  She smiled and continued to walk with me and said, “I am wondering, how can I be praying for you?” I was taken aback at this, at first sort of thinking, “What’s it to you?”  But then I was flattered that she would ask. I told her one thing – no details – just a topic.  It is something that I pray about often -in fact the very thing that I was talking to God about earlier before the service.

She pulled me aside (I wasn’t expecting that) and captured both my hands in hers and started praying over my request – but here is the peculiar thing…she hit every touch point in my wish list for that issue.  It was like she was reading my thoughts. There was not ONE thing that she missed that I carry in my heart and pray over in this circumstance.  That tiny woman prayed big prayers over me for about 5 minutes, out loud, standing there in the church lobby.  I found myself uncomfortable, disturbed and thankful all at the same time.  “How could she know?”  I was screaming to myself silently.  I left her shortly afterward, feeling like I had been bowled over.  That had never happened to me before.

Straight Paths: A little confused, I managed to get to my car and as I was driving home thinking about it, I started to smile.  In fact I laughed out loud.  That wasn’t weird, that was just God.  He knew what was in my heart – I had been telling Him about it all morning. As I turned into my driveway, still smiling, I heard in my heart, “Hey girl, I got this.”

Yes, God.  I know you do.  Now one more question….do you like my boots?  

Psalm 143:1 

O LORD, hear my prayer, listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness come to my relief.

Mark 11:24 

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

Philippians 4:6-7 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

1 John 5:14-15 

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him.

John 15:7 

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

John 14:13-14 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

2 thoughts on “Maybe God Likes My Boots

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

