What is living Water?

Jordan River

Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”…. Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” 

The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.” John 4:10, 13-14

Water.  Soft, hard, wet, cool, hot, clear, clean, dirty brown silt-filled. Stagnant, free-flowing. Violent, powerful, ebbing and quiet, tasteless, salty. Life giving; it fills and restores every cell and pore in a body, two feet or four, flying or crawling.

Water.  It evokes emotions; stirs hearts with fear or yearning. It flows from eyes in exultation and deep suffering. It takes life, removes all hope of oxygen from its swirling, heavy suffocating volume.

Water.  It brings forth life on earth. It cleansed the earth in the great Flood, poisoned the Egyptians from the Nile, opened a pathway through the Red Sea, flowed from rocks in the desert; became wine at a wedding, baptized Jesus in the Jordan. It provided a pathway for Peter to greater faith as he walked to Jesus on it; it washed the feet of the apostles and tragically flowed from the pierced side of our Saviour at His crucifixion.

Water.  It feeds the nations, carves canyons, moves mountains and makes land where there is none. We take it for granted and yet it really is the difference between life and death. It is powerful and perfect in its very nature…and why wouldn’t it be, as it is God’s idea and an ultimate gift to this planet and it’s inhabitants.

Water truly quenches our body’s thirst; without it we will die.  But more important than our physical survival is our spiritual life….and without the Living Water that only God can provide, our soul’s will not thrive. Scriptures advise – His word is the well of our salvation.

I learned this lesson myself many years ago; when I finally listened to Him and asked Jesus to be sovereign in my life.  It was years later, in 2011 that I was baptised in water; the clear, crisp aquamarine waters of the Jordan River in Israel (pictured above). That October day had an enormous effect on me. In fact, I was crying so hard that my pastor had to hold me steady.  It was something that I had always prayed to do – and it meant everything to me that I was in the Jordan to do it.

Did that act impart my salvation?  No, as the power of the Holy Spirit living in me can only do that – but it did change me.  It was my outward confession to all that I am in it – in Him, 100% sold out, Lord-live-through-me commitment.

It is the Living Water that flows in me that carries me into and out of each day. Sometimes, it is just a trickle – a dry stream bed that I have blocked up and damned due to my own actions and choices.  It is then that my worldliness gets in the way and I become parched, as my soul pants for what only will quench it.  Other times, when I have spent time with my Lord and submitted to His saving ministrations, His will and words reverberate in me and I am able to be of use to Him.  It is then that streams of His goodness and mercy can flow from me – not of me – but of Him – to minister to others around me.

In the morning of each day, I awake thirsty and with a choice to make.  As I reach to my bedside table for the bottle of water that sits there, atop my Bible – I can quench my physical thirst only – or choose to be filled up with God’s word – “water” that will not be taken away from me.

And so I have learned that water will allow me to live.  But it is only water.  Without it, I will pass away like the fading flower that will become dust in the wind.  God’s Living Water, found only through belief in Jesus Christ IS Life….and today and tomorrow and all the days into eternity – I will choose Life and never be thirsty again.

The Great Falls

Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’” John 7:38

And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. Isaiah 58:11

 For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour my Spirit upon your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. Isaiah 44:3

“Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city.” Revelation 22:1-2

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

