A Tea Bag Kind of Friend

I have been invited to be a contributor on a wonderful global blog, Christian Blessings. The founder of this site desires to be a blessing and encouragement to all. Please check it out. There is something for everyone; every nation, every tongue.

Reblogged From ChristianBlessings

A Tea Bag Kind of Friend

tera cup

You are a tea bag kind of friend.  You are good for me, you are soothing and the longer I sit with you the stronger I get.

That is what the card read.  It was sent to me last week from an old friend.  I haven’t even spoken with her in forever, as she lives out of state.  But may I just say something?  Her kind thoughtfulness brought tears to my eyes.  I so needed affirmation that day…in fact I needed it the very moment that I fished the little manila envelope out of the mailbox.

Coincidence one might say…nope, I know better.  God knew I needed a hug that day. After all, He knows me best.

I am constantly dumbfounded by people who really think that we have a God who does not care about the little things in life.  I don’t get that.  He is my Father, and if it matters to me, it does to Him as well.   He is a God who holds the hearts of kings in His hand and directs their paths, (Proverbs 21) why couldn’t He also nudge my sweet friend’s heart in advance for me?  Can’t you just hear it?

“Pssst…Hey Ivie, my daughter over there is going to have a tough week.  Can you do me a favour?  Will you send her a loving note of support?  She is going to need it, and I want her to know I have her back – that she is loved by me, you and many others.” 

If that wasn’t enough, God tapped a local gal pal, Andrea on the shoulder too.  She unexpectedly called me and wanted to get together.  She always makes me laugh at myself.  I must say, her hugs are the best!  I can’t stay sad around her.

I know many folks just don’t believe that God cares about the little things.  I am a living testament that He does.  Heck, my pastor even prays for parking spaces….and get’s them! It’s just the way God rolls.  I am betting you have a few stories of your own…but we can sometimes get weighed down by worry to the point we can’t see Him working.  We must remember He delights in us (Psalm 18:19), we are His children.

Just as a parent loves their child, God loves us. His love for us is an example to follow.

I know I can’t stop some of the things that disappoint or frustrate my children in their day, but I can be there to listen and love on them when they get home.  Even when they have a bad attitude, I will pray for them and try to soothe over the pain.  God does this for us too.

In the moment, my hurt heart and sour spirit had dampened my own ability to pray…but that didn’t matter.  In my weakness, God prayed for me through the Holy Spirit.  God says, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. (Romans 8:26)

Isn’t that great?  Even when I am sad and feeling bereft and alone (presiding over a big pity party for me), God can uncurl my fingers, wipe my tears up, straighten up my heart and remind me He is bigger than my momentary affliction (2 Corinthians 4:17-18).

He is my shepherd, He walks with me along green pastures; He will seek out still waters for me and guide me there, He will stick with me when I walk through shadows and He reminds me that I shall not want. (Psalm 23).  He also says He will restore my peace and provide all my needs through Christ Jesus! (Philippians 4:19). I am feeling better already….

You are good for me,  you are soothing and the longer I sit with you the stronger I get.So as I re-read the card I am struck with a thought.  Seems to me that God is a “tea bag kind of friend” too!

Thank you Lord that you know me best, loved me first and know what I need before I can ever speak it myself.   Amen.

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Matthew 6:26

For He will give His angels charge concerning you, To guard you in all your ways. Psalm 91:11

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity. Proverbs 17:17

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Tea Bag Kind of Friend

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

