That Sound of Silence

Reblogged from Christian Blessings  – written by setyourpathsstraight

silence_2560x1600

Before you speak, it is necessary for you to listen, for God speaks in the silence of the heart.  Mother Teresa

On my way to work one recent morning I drove in silence.  Though I usually take conference calls or listen to music, I just wanted to be “alone.” It has been hard to hear God lately – and I miss Him. 

I remember reading a devotion from Billy Graham years ago when he recounted a similar situation. His ministry took him all over the world; he was always at Kingdom work and rarely at rest.  He wrote of a time of personal crisis – when he couldn’t “hear” God.  He said that the heavens felt like brass – all his thoughts and prayers reverberated back only to him. He was alone in his own silence.

Why does this happen?  I have a couple of thoughts. 

Years ago, my career required for me to travel a lot.  I was a mom with two young children and a husband.  God bless him for putting up with my manic work life. 

But because my schedule was so stressed, I found myself going into function mode, whereas I just pushed through to the next “thing” that was required of me – meeting the to do list both corporately and in my own life.  In this process, I had to dig deep into my own pool of resilience, which didn’t allow for much else…including people.

When I spent too much time away from what I wanted to do (be wife and mom) and spent my time doing what I must do, I became estranged from those closest to me.   Life was awkward.  I was alone in my silence then and I felt far far away from those who were most important to me.

I am no longer travelling for work (thank you Jesus), but am full of busyness again; work/ life/wife balance coupled with mentoring, writing, volunteering and being super involved with my teenage sons can cause a lot of “noise,” (nope, I am totally not complaining).  However, this gives little time for silence with my Lord. 

My quiet time with Him is a little unconventional.  It is prayers in the car, the sing along worship songs on the radio (yes, I can do a great Nichole Nordeman).  It may be listening to the Bible App reading to me when I go to sleep or exercising, or doing Scripture research for my writings on faith. My busyness, or activities, are meant to serve others and ultimately God.

Ephesians 2:10 says: 

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

After all when we do for others, we are doing for God.  As the scripture above notes, we are created to do good works, but serving others for God is different than working through God…and we can only do this when we are in Him and He is in us….daily.  Jesus discussed this same thing with young Mary….

Luke 10:38-42: Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.” But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

At the risk of annoying her sister, Mary chose to sit at Jesus feet.  She basked in His presence, and because she was silent, she could hear Him.

So back to Billy Graham – he too learned this lesson; at the guidance of his mother and at the feet of the Father.  His mom told him silence happens to many followers of Jesus.  Sometimes it is self-inflicted (busyness) and sometimes it is God waiting on us.  In all cases, it is Him drawing us closer through His silence.

The heavens opened for Rev. Graham when he found himself face-down for a long prayer meeting of silence with the Lord.  Confessing his busyness, he too rested at Jesus feet.  The conversations started again.

 Jesus tells us to SEEK Him, Call on Him, Search for Him, Find Him.  I have written before, Jesus is the ultimate gentlemen – when we are looking for Him for the first time or the 100th time. 

We are to seek Him daily and we will find him…in the Sound of Silence. 

Psalm 62:1-2 My soul waits in silence for God only; From Him is my salvation.  He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken.

Isaiah 55:6 Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near.

4 thoughts on “That Sound of Silence

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

