The Greater Will

IMG_1938

“Your Will is Greater than my purpose.” 

This is the sentence spoken into my heart last Sunday.

I was at church in the middle of silent and corporate prayer with the body of Christ.

The congregation was quiet and as I sat next to my son in prayer I found myself saying out loud, “uh huh” …I was even shocked by my own voice. My son said “shhhh” to me under his breath… but at that moment I realized that these words I heard in my head were not of me…but of God.

Why do I know this?

For two reasons:

1) I am just not that smart or deep thinking

2) Because it was not about me – it is about HIM. God reminded me that my agenda, my purpose is not as important as His plans for my time.

I have been very distracted in this season of my life lately. I measure my days in coffee cups – punctuated by raising awesome kids, loving a good man (my hubby), meeting work expectations and dealing with the time demands of extended family, lacrosse team duties, an unwell dad, a sick dog, piles of laundry and a dirty house… did you notice what is missing in my list?

God.

I have not even been writing much because the Holy Spirit has not had enough of my attention to “speak” to me. I have only been “snatching” time with my Maker…not diving in and swimming in the peaceful Living Water of His presence…and it shows.

Don’t get me wrong – all of these things listed above are important. But what good is an exhausted, spiritually-dry daughter of Christ to any of my loved ones?

When my boys were younglings, my husband and I made it a habit to date several times a month. The boys would whine and complain and try to keep us from going. But we always remained firm, reminding them that we could not be a good mommy and daddy if we were not first loving wife and husband. Our relationship stress level would rise exponentially if we did not take time for our marriage and keep that connection strong.

After 20 years of marriage, we are still “dating.”

The same strategy applies to the lover of my soul, my creator and King. If I am not “dating” Jesus everyday – spending time with Him, and remaining in Him, my connection will be severely limited. Jesus tells us that “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.

God reminded me of this truth in church that morning. What an amazing thing that the God of all creation would whisper into my ear to nudge me along. Did I already know it? Yes. But as a parent, how many times do you have to repeat life’s truths to your children?

I am God’s kid…His daughter first and everything else second. Since I am His idea – it might be best to remember that… His WILL is more important than My purpose.

“Uh huh.” 🙂 Amen to that.

 

5 thoughts on “The Greater Will

  1. Aw, ~ He is a friend that sticks closer than a brother, isn’t it wonderful that just when we think were out of touch…the Holy Spirit whispers in our heart…”I’m right here”, uh huh…

    Bless you for being who God just LOVES~Zoey

    Like

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

