King Of The Mountain

whohasfaith-1

Matthew 17:20

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Judges 5:5

“The mountains quaked at the presence of the LORD, This Sinai, at the presence of the LORD, the God of Israel.

Meanderings:

As I write I hear the trickling sound of water as it rushes down the walls of the fountain outside my bedroom window.  It is a wonder to hear this – yet I am not calculating that the force of gravity causes that water to travel 9.8 meters per second… but it does and I cannot see the gravity, but it is evidently there.

Just as the sun rose this morning; I did not see the earth rotate as night met day on the Western hemisphere, but based on that bright orb in the heavens, it evidently happened.  I am not watching my brain process my thoughts as I write this blog, but it is clearly occurring. I cannot see the wind, but I can see the effects of the wind.    I am cognizant of the process of cause and effect in and around me and so evidently I have learned for every cause there is an effect.

Interestingly, there are many people in this world that think that belief in God is nonsense because they do not see the cause and effect of God. I used to be one of them.  Recently, I read in an atheistic point of view in a blog comment.  He said,  “Those who think there is a God are delusional and just want a little friend in the sky to call on and make them feel special.”

These are the people who doubt God’s existence because they (think) He cannot be seen, cannot be felt and  cannot be engaged in direct discussion.  In Psalm 19, we are told that the Heavens declare God’s existence:

The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they reveal knowledge.
They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice[b] goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.

The Psalm speaks to more, (click here for further reading), but the tenant of this Psalm is important.  God is everywhere.  The mathematical order and beauty of this earth, and indeed our universe cannot have happened by mistake.

Crooked Paths:

Before the written word, God spoke to the human heart through His creation.  Yet still, many did not acknowledge these things.

He sent His prophets to tell us of things to come; yet we did not accept this foresight.

He sent His Son to work miracles before our very eyes; yet we refused to see them.

God’s raised His Son from and defeated death, and yet we still do not believe.

Why do we suppose this is?  In Hebrews 11:1, scripture reads, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.” (KJV)

We humans are just so smart, aren’t we?  We ask for proof, for a sign that He is real.  He gives us this, past and present and yet we still don’t “see.”

There was indeed a time in my life when I was blind and could not see or feel or converse with God, but not anymore.  What happened?  I am certain that God removed the blinders from my eyes.  He did it in His way, through many difficult circumstances and over time.  I needed to get to the point where I couldn’t rely on myself to resolve life’s challenges.  I literally had to “give up” because I was too weary to handle it all on my own…which was my standard behavior and the same go- to-plan that most humans have.  When this happened in my life, I asked for help…from God.  I meant it and He knew it.  Then the evidence of God was not about obvious glories of His natural creation – but it was in the evidence a very changed life.  Mine.

I “heard” Him through prayer and reading scripture, I felt Him as He spoke to me through His Spirit that indwells me and I saw Him (and still do) through the daily ebb and flow of life all around me.

Straight Paths:

Jesus told Nicodemus, “Unless a person is born from above, he cannot see the Kingdom of God.” (John 3:3).   Born from above is something we as humans can clearly not accomplish on our own.

Nicodemus said to him, “How can a man be born when he is old? He cannot enter his mother’s womb and be born a second time, can he?”

 Jesus answered, “I tell you the solemn truth, unless a person is born of water and spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.  What is born of the flesh is flesh, and what is born of the Spirit is spirit.  Do not be amazed that I said to you, ‘You must be born from above.’  The wind blows wherever it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

Being born of the Spirit is the difference between being born in the flesh (as we all are) and being “reborn” to God’s Spiritual indwelling.  It seems so unnatural to we order-seeking humans to accept this.  We are an empirical lot, always seeking to understand everything…our desire to tidy everything up in a definable explanation is a reflection of our egos.  If we can “put a pin in it,” if we can explain it, if we have no surprises, then we are master’s of our own universe.  It feels great to be King of the mountain.  Thats when we we think we have all our decisions, trials and tribulations mastered…

Except that we are not masters.  We are frail and subject to the whim and warp of the human will. But therein lays the issue.  God allows for free will in all of us – because He loves us that much.  What good is a forced love? It is no love at all.  We get to choose to love His Son and follow Him or not. We can choose to give our lives to God and live in his grace and mercy OR NOT. It is human will that leads to our own good and bad choices and results.

So though the scripture says that faith is a reflection of what we do not see, I know that when we truly OPEN OUR EYES – we will see.

Try it. Put your prejudices aside – lay down you dogged determination to control and understand everything.  Look for the evidence of things not seen…and God WILL reveal himself if you earnestly ask Him to do so.  Our faith in Him can move mountains!

You will see the small miracles and big.  Starting with your own existence….you did nothing to choose your own creation, yet you are on this earth and reading this blog.  Are you a mistake or are you God’s good and perfect plan? Every second of every living moment, we are incapable of even controlling our next heart beat.  All the cellular processes, the functions of the brain, the body, the organs, all in concert with one goal – for you to take the next breath and live the next moment….that is a miracle.

When you open your eyes and heart to God’s reality – you will see the kindness of others as led by His Spirit.  (He can and will use men and women, believers in Christ or not to accomplish His purpose).  We can choose to put our ego’s on hold and make God the King of our mountains instead.  We decide to trust in an unseen God or not.  Though we are each given a measure of faith – all of us – (Romans 12:3-8), it is up to us what we do with that measure.

And without faith, it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and the He rewards those who earnestly seek Him. Hebrews 11:6

So I ask you (and me), who is “King of your Mountain”?

Moving-Mountains

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

