The Darkness of 10 o’clock

night-teal-sky-serene 1

See photo credit here

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them. Matthew 18:20

She is strong in her faith.  She is bold with her words.  She loves her Lord.  She was married in His sight, has raised her children in His hands.  She has loved, lived, honoured and served according to His will.  She is now in a fight.  She has cancer.

In the midst of surgery, chemotherapy and all the difficulties of treatment –  she is learning what it is to trust Him literally with her life.

Let me tell you a bit about “Johanna”.  Though not her real name (as I wish to respect her privacy),  God knows it and that is what matters.

First, please know I have permission to share this. Second, this lady is such a gutsy gal.  She is taking this disease on with the tenacity of a gladiator.  Even after her first day of chemo she heads to the gym.  She WILL be strong.  She will lean on God, her family, her doctors and her friends…and no one will forsake her.

Which is why I write today.  I am asking a favour from you dear spiritual family.  

I am asking for your prayers for her.  As I am certain every one of us has been “there” before, whether it is us personally or someone we love – cancer sucks…and don’t we all know it!

Sometimes, after a day of FULL TIME FIGHTING, our sweet Johanna gets to the middle of those dark hours and feels the exhaustion.  Her spirit flags and her human weaknesses take over.  She worries.  She wonders. Sometimes she fears…and it is then when she has to dig really deep and hold on to God’s promises. Jesus told us we all will have tribulations.  If you don’t have them now, wait awhile – in this fallen world, they are surely on the horizon.   But He also promised peace.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. John 14:27(KJV)

Last night I set the calendar on my phone to ping me every night at 10:00 pm to pray for Johanna in the midst of her dark time.  I pray for her healing. Her strength…and Her peace.  Will you please consider doing the same?  After all – When we all get together in a prayer party, Jesus promises to be there.  Let’s come together and move the heavens and behold, watch the Lord our God move.

Thank you in advance and blessings.

Here are a few verses to get us started.  
 
Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do Not Fear I am with You. Deut 3:1-6
 
For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7 NLT
 
So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Matt 10:31 NIV
 
This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9 NLT
 
But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31
 
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. Isaiah 43:2
 
Further reading: Acts12 Movement
 
13 thoughts on “The Darkness of 10 o’clock

  1. Going through the fire also, I can tell you are truly experiencing it. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I’m always here if you need someone to talk to. How long have you been blogging? I’. only 1 month in and It is total catharsis for me!

    Like

    • How can I pray for you too? BTW, You might visit the links associated to the blog on bottom of this post. It is a blog dedicated to prayer called Acts12 Movement. Thanks so much for your support and prayer for my friend. Also. I have been blogging since May 2013. I am still a relative newbie. Writing is part of my service to our Lord. When I tell His stories to others they can see a God who is real and present as any of us! Happy Blogging and blessings!

      Like

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

