Cleaning Up after the Mess

roxy

Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity And cleanse me from my sin. For I know my transgressions, And my sin is ever before me.…Psalm 51:2-3

I have not been blogging this week. I also have not had enough quiet time with the Lord most mornings or finished my Bible study. I have been off track. Why? I have been busy cleaning up messes. I have a new puppy in the house – she is 8 weeks old and full of energy and trouble making.  She is a wild thing.

I have thought once, no twice, no 100 times….what have I done?  She is forever getting in trouble.  She is very hard-headed and determined to go her own way….she doesn’t listen well, yet.  So I chase.  I push, prod and guide her away from the scary woods in our yard.  I pick up the chew toys and the kibble all over the floor.  I clean up her paws from the spilt water… sigh.

BUT, she is worth it because when all the mayhem settles down – she comes to me and snuggles and loves and folds her little furry body into the crook of my arm and settles in with pure trust.roxy asleep

I know she will make mistakes, but we purposely chose her.  We will put the time and effort in so that she will eventually come around… we are committed to her. She’s family.

It occurs to me that our puppy is an analogy for human “wild things”.  I have written before that I was not always a believer – a follower of Jesus Christ.  Sure, I acknowledged academically that God existed, but I certainly pushed against His goads and would not yield to His proddings…I was God’s errant creation and determined to go my own way.

But that didn’t matter to God.  He was (and is) always there…calling me, correcting me, hemming me in – away from the scary places of the world.  I frequently didn’t listen. Sometimes I still don’t.  But, He doesn’t give up on me, and I am now His child, not just His creation.

He chose me…He chooses all of us.  But I (we) have to choose back.  To become part of His family I must accept His sovereignty in my life – and that of His Son, Jesus Christ.   I confessed (and still do), my transgressions and asked Jesus to come and live in me and with me.

Just like our puppy, I can still make an unholy mess of things, but with the patience of the Father, He waits for me to confess and then He cleans me up again.  Now it is I who comes to Him with the love and trust of a child.  We are committed to each other.  We are family.

…if we are faithless, he remains faithful, for he cannot disown himself. 2 Timothy 2:13

 

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

