I want to tell you a secret…

friend in Jesus

Jeremiah 33:3The Message (MSG)

2-3 “This is God’s Message, the God who made earth, made it livable and lasting, known everywhere as God: ‘Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.’

When I was in 4th grade I started a new school.  I was the outsider; not really welcomed into the “popular girl gang”.  One in particular used to make it a point to be unkind and pull aside her friends in front of me to “whisper” into their ears. Awkward and shy, I was always afraid of her – certain that she was telling some deep ugly secret about me – as if she could see to my very heart and thoughts.  As an insecure 9-year old, I felt trapped and alone. It was excruciating.  I grew up striving to be very honest (sometimes ungracefully so), as I knew first-hand how painful “secrets” could be.

Contrarily, now I understand secrets a little differently.   I know there is really only one who can see inside of me – my Daddy, Abba.  He has taught me though man may judge the outer appearance, He and only He can see into the heart…and it is our hearts that He calls.  He wants to tell us His secrets.

In the book of Jeremiah, chapter 29, God tells the Hebrews who are in Babylonian captivity to seek Him.  He can see their hearts, He knows their fear and their sorrow. He promises them a future.

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.

The key sentence in this scriptural promise is “when you seek me with all your heart.” Humans must be the ones to seek God, as He wants us to choose him and act with submission of our egos and our wills.  The Lord tells us that He welcomes a contrite spirit into His Kingdom, not a haughty or independent one.  When we are apart from God, we are like the Hebrews in Babylon.  God allowed their captivity, just as He allows us to be apart from Him too.  But that is not what God wants for us.  He wants to tell us His secrets and show us the furious love He has for us all.  But we must knock on His door and seek Him out first; He is waiting to be found by us.

Then He will open that door and come in and make His home with us.  The life-long journey will reveal to us His marvels, His wonders and the secrets of His character and heart….and those secrets of mine? Well, they have already been outed to God – confessed and under His grace… in the meantime I seek to know His wondrous secrets.

Matthew 7:7

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

 

 

 

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

