Early Morning Call

Christmas Ice 3

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. Romans 8:20-27

It was a rare morning.  I had extra time.  Schools had a snow delay so I could have slept in, but last night I asked God to awake me early for prayer. At 5:45am I received my heavenly morning call and so rose to a cold dark morn.  I rolled over groaning.

You see, I am not so good at praying. Seems I am always on the move so my prayer life can be a series of arrow prayers sent hither and thither through out the day.  I am convicted of my wimpy prayer life – especially as my pastor is preaching on the same…for himself AND our church body.  I agree with him, the body of Christ can do great things, but only if we move forward on our knees.

So this morning, God laid a mighty burden on me…  I found myself for the 3rd time in as many days with tears in my eyes and a burdened soul as I realized over and over that I, we, are causing our Abba a heart-ache.

He is saddened by our motivations.  He is disappointed with our choices, His heart hurts when we hurt ourselves….and yet like a good Father, He seeks our restoration through our repentance to Him.

He calls us to this because of His great love….and so I am praying.   Big prayers, loud prayers, silent prayers, desperate and worried prayers.  I am also praying prayers of praise, prayers for change.  I am praying in sureness too, as I implore and remind God – NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE with you Lord!  I am asking Him to send His Spirit over my family, my friends, my nation and yours – to change us, CHANGE our WORLD and bring humanity collectively back to Him.

God wants something different for us then what we are doing.  We are on this earth only for a short time – which is why it is so important to use it wisely! God made human beings for His purpose, not our own.  He wants to bless us, help us to thrive and live in harmony with Him for Him (and with each other). But it seems now more than ever, evil has made its presence very known.  Could it be so because humanity has collectively pushed His goodness away? Pushed Him away?

Jesus talked about the “strong man’s” house…and noted if it is left unguarded (by the presence of the Holy Spirit), evil can come in and make its home there (and in us). We must first bind the strong man, (the evil one and his schemes). We can only do this through the power of Jesus Christ. When Jesus lives in us, darkness can be overcome by His light.

This is the purpose and the power of prayer. I may not have always understood, but now I know that prayer is the silent song in our heart, the mechanism God gives us to enter into His presence here on earth, and the place where we can let it all go, whether in pain, shame or thankfulness and jubilation.  Prayer.  My private talk with my daddy.  Where I can crawl up on His lap, tell him what’s on my mind and heart – share a laugh, a tear and repentance. In the power of prayer, we can move the heavens to act…for a wayward friend AND a wayward world!  God commands us to pray – we are to bring all of it to Him and then and only then, can we move forward on our knees.

So tomorrow morning will find me again responding to His call…and I will seek God’s face in the early dawn and wait for Him to show me what to pray…

No more wimpy prayers either.  Do you want to join me? I will be praying for you and you and you….then when we are all done – let’s go to Starbucks – the coffee is on me 😉

 …if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. 15 Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place. 2 Chronicles 7:14-15

But He said, “The things that are impossible with people are possible with God.” Luke 18:27

“I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted. Job 42:2

 

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

