When He Was But Two

baby pic

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. James 1:17

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.Psalm 127:3

Today is my oldest son’s birthday. When he was very young (and I guess I was too), this gift of God captured me.  I would sit and just watch him – and marvel at the intricate fingers, the luscious thick blond curls and the deep chocolate-brown eyes. When he slept, he truly looked like a Botticelli angel.  How could this creature have been given to me, I wondered?  He was my first, and at the time I thought the only one I would ever be able to have.  Thankfully, God had different plans.

I recall the heady (and overwhelming) responsibility I felt for this little one. In raising him, I learned the depth of my heart, the length of my patience, the fierceness of my protective instinct and the higher calling of truly putting someone else above my own needs.  Guess I became a parent.

When he was still a wee one, I wrote him this poem on his then 2-year birthday.  He is indeed still as rambunctious as he was then…and in knowing and loving my young man of 18 – well, I can’t articulate what I really feel, seems my tears are blinding my typing…

Hope you enjoy the poem.  Thank you God for choosing me to be his mom…and happiest of birthday’s my love.  Thank you for being my son.

Plop plop plop trounce down every stair
Curly blond locks flop about in the air
Wild vocalization, is that a plane or a truck?
Where is that shoe?
Get out of there, you’ll get stuck…

Challenge the mountain
That is daddy’s favourite chair
Take to the sky at the expense of Stuffed Bear
Gasp in awe at that Fisher-Price gadget
No no my love, you already have it…

“Read” every picture book
You can drag to my lap
“What’s this?” you demand, “and this, and what’s that?”
Streak through the house with your churlish smile
Come here my darling, let’s just sit for awhile

Emotions unbounded
Erupt in kisses and giggles
“Big boy” hugs; he constantly wiggles
The gift of this child, can I be so deserving?
A love in my heart so deep and unswerving

I am blessed with his life
Still many years to go through
With this precious young boy
Who is just turning two…

2 thoughts on “When He Was But Two

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

