Precious and Few

god-is-making-his-jewels-and-you-are-one-of-them.jpg.crop_display

Precious and few are the moments we too can share…lyrics by Climax

I have attended 3 funerals in two weeks.  The first farewell was for “Sister,” for whom I prayed over as a guest writer on another blog .  Though her goodbye was expected, can one every really grasp the impending loss? Her passing brought me back 10+ years ago when her sister Lou left.  With a deep and trembling sigh, I admit that I been forced into an uncomfortable familiarity with life’s abrupt ends.  Next were 2 more adieu’s – lovely, humble and wise women…matriarchs both. Lover’s of our Lord, it is not by coincidence that their funeral services included references to them being Proverbs 31 women…which they all were.

My point in bringing these thoughts to you is because after the pain and the crying and the emotional exhaustion subsides – well then there is the lesson learned in the memory of our loved ones. 

Their silent soliloquy speaks to those left behind to remind us – Life is for the living.

In the book of James 4:14 we are told, “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. A mist, here in the morning, gone by sunset…dear ones, our times are short – and our people rare jewels that adorn our lives.  

So while I revel in the memory and reflection of my friends’ lives done well – I will honour them by loving others better.  In listening to family and friends recount the special contributions these people made on earth – I am prompted to learn through their living example.  I want to be more humble and wise. I do not want to take life so seriously, and I will give extra time and increased tenderness with others.  

So to those of mine who own the real-estate of my heart, until the day that I am absent from my body and present with the Lord,  (2 Corinthians 5:8) I will do a better job of making it known to you too – you are my precious and few.

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

