Spare Me The Drama

SpareMeTheDrama1

I kid you not, I have a wooden sign above my kitchen window that proudly displays that sentiment. Spare Me The Drama.  I admit it…I am no good with whiners.  It must come from my mother – she is the. most. pragmatic. woman. ever.

When you fall in a ditch – lay there for a minute, then start thinking about how your going to get out of it.  That’s her favourite sentiment.

So when I actually did fall in a “ditch” – er ugh, trip over a lacrosse bag last year while photographing a game, I sucked it up, hobbled off, ransacked an ace bandage out of another player’s bag and got back to business.

That was nearly a year ago.  I am still hobbling around – having been tied to “das boot” – (a therapeutic boot), examined by countless doctors, endured physical therapy and forced into unfeminine flats for 11 months.

I have moved past the “frozen ankle” stage, thankfully – but I am still in a lot of pain (there is only so much Aleve a gal can take).  I have inched my way back into physical activity and decided yesterday, I would try to run again.  What was I thinking? I was up most of the night with a throbbing ankle.

Oh dear, I am whining.

Why am I telling you this?  Because it is funny how God works.  You see, I almost didn’t go to Bible study today.  I was distracted, tired, in pain and on top of it, basically miserable because I am also dieting and grouchy as….I had lots of good reasons NOT to go.  I was going to miss a work call, I had laundry piling up, my foot hurt, I had email to do….blah blah blah…”

Without much enthusiasm I finally gimped out of bed, dragged myself to the shower and started to get it together to leave. Part of me wanted to go, (I had finished all of the homework!  Yay!) but I was still procrastinating and reasoning with myself why I should not go when my hubby said, “Don’t you have Bible study today?”

Ugh.  Conviction.  “Ok, I will go”, I said to myself.

So I went.  I got there a few minutes late and snuck into my seat quietly…and wouldn’t you know it but we were discussing the importance of keeping “the main thing, the plain thing.” Translate that to “Seek first the Kingdom of God and all these things will be given to you.” (Matthew 6:33)

Convicted again.

After study, one of my friends came over to me.  “I just want to thank you,”  she said.  I was surprised.  “Why?” I asked.

“Well, I had such a terrible morning today.  The kids wouldn’t get out of bed, they were running late to school, my husband couldn’t find the car keys, I forgot to pack my bible and there was stress and drama consuming my household.  After taking them to school I realized I also didn’t have my study binder and was so frustrated I nearly turned around and went home.”

“Oh, I am sorry – it sounds like a crazy one…”  I said, still not understanding the point of the conversation.

“Well, I want to thank you though”, she said again.  “When I was just at the point of driving back home, I saw your face in my mind.  I remembered when you were my bible study leader and you said, ‘Don’t worry if you haven’t done your study or you are running late.  Just come.  Sit and settle with the Lord.  It will be worth it.'”

I got teary-eyed.  I have not been in leadership for the past 3 years…who knew my words would resonate with her – and then come back to bear fruit in me? Isn’t is just like God to come along with a little side-wink to us all…I could just sense Him saying to me, “Told you so…”

My little dramas and whimpers don’t seem so important now – but those two hours sitting with my sister’s in Christ breathing in God’s word were just the right therapy for me.

When the real dramas in life come (and they will) – we can be ready for them if we are fortified by time spent in God’s word, knowing that He is walking with us, through us and in us…no whining necessary.

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.” Proverbs 31:25

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:40-42

 

 

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

