Writing for One

finn finickI will declare your name to my people; in the assembly I will praise you. Psalm 22:22

Today is one of those days.  I want to write.  I need to write…but my thoughts are like spider webs – knitting together and then floating away.  I can’t concentrate.  So I sit before this screen and ask myself the question, “why must I write?”

The truth is there are millions of blogs out there and at least many thousands that are faith-based.  Everyone has something to say, and now that we can all self-publish – it seems we think we have to say it.  So, what makes me think what I have to write is important enough to be read?

It’s because of Him. 

I write because of God…. because I have this pressure in me – to have one more chance to share (and make a difference for someone) – that Jesus is real. I write because if I didn’t do so – I would burst from the inside out.  I want to jump and down and tell anyone who will listen that though people will forsake you,  Jesus will not.   I write because I am a broken vessel who has been given a particular heart for others who are as broken as me.  I write because I know that Jesus came to heal the sick – and God knows we are all sick – mentally, physically, spiritually… so broken, so tragically broken. 

I write because after 35 years of wandering on this earth without God, the fire that He built inside of me cannot be quenched because for some unbelievable and undeserved reason, Jesus loves me and you and all our dirt of the day… I write to tell you there is no one – who can or will love like that.

I write to tell the person who feels trapped in their mistakes and who believes there is no way out – that there is a better way to living – abundantly…not in our own flesh and strength – which can be SO exhausting, but in the strength of God’s holy spirit who can live in us.  

I write because I may be writing for one – the only one – who connects to my ugly story and sees themselves in the same place as me and they are filled with hope…hope in a changed life because of faith in Jesus.

And I write to proclaim God’s goodness, His plans and His pursuit of the human heart.  When I write about the impact of a life changed by Jesus – and that He gave me a new history…I mean how can I not write?  I must tell about the change in me because I so passionately want that change for you too.

I write to tell you don’t live your life just getting to the next best thing, person, job, party or the next next next.  Life IS short, and we are meant to live it with purpose.  I write to tell you that your purpose on this earth, at this time in history is divinely planned.  Don’t waste your life or veer from your God-given destiny by chasing the foolishness of man. God’s love and saving grace is for all.  

Finally, I write to tell you that Jesus is inviting you to be part of the family – His family….so you see – I am writing for one – because though I may not know you – God does – and He wants you One with Him. So finally I write a question…What are you waiting for?

John 1:12
But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name…

John 3:17
For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.

Romans 5:8
But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

photo credit here

One thought on “Writing for One

  1. Pingback: What’s in it for me? | Mere Observations

Please Share YOUR Path - Comments are Requested!

